The Luck Factor: Uncovering the Habits of a Successful 2022

The Luck Factor: Uncovering the Habits of a Successful 2022

From Google Girl Hackathon Champion to International Speaker: How Hard Work, Habits, and Networking Paved My Way to Success

ยท

3 min read

2022 was a year for the books. I ticked off all the boxes on my success list:

  • Shortlisted for MLH and ETHWMN fellowship

  • Google Girl Hackathon champion

  • International speaker at Codebar

  • Financially independent (from my parents lol)

  • Twitter following skyrocketed to 30k in three months.

  • Interned at Microsoft

  • And, the cherry on top - A new job at Microsoft!

(Between you and me, I owe this to my lucky number '22'. I was born on 22/02/2002, and I turned 20 this year)

Many might attribute my success in 2022 to luck and being in the right place at the right time. But multiple strokes of luck? That's just fantasy.

I believe luck is just another word for the hard work and intelligent choices that pay off in the form of a breakthrough opportunity.

In 2022, I was fortunate enough to have many opportunities come my way. This wasn't just luck; it was also a result of habits I had developed regarding behaviour and mindset. These habits increased my chances of being in the right place at the right time. If you're looking to maximize your opportunities, consider focusing on developing similar habits:

[1] Want it from the heart:

When working on my applications, I wasn't distracted by mindless activities like binge-watching or scrolling through social media. My desire to get into these programs and win hackathons was so strong that I naturally lost my interest in distractions.

I was entirely focused on perfecting my application and even praying for success. It was only because I truly wanted it with all my heart.

[2] Burning Curiosity:

I was always searching for opportunities on LinkedIn, Twitter, Discord etc.

By keeping your antenna up and actively seeking out opportunities, you increase your chances of finding the right ones for you.

I reached out to people on Twitter and LinkedIn who I believed could offer valuable insight and knowledge, and I didn't hesitate to ask questions. I had many because I was curious. With the information I gathered, I was able to develop a clear understanding of what it would take to succeed in my endeavours.

Want to be a curious cat? Hang out with smart mice who ask lots of questions and get things done!

The fastest way to change yourself is to hang out with people who are already the way you want to be.

[3] Cultivate your network:

  • It all started with a simple act of kindness. I shared opportunities and resources with my colleagues on WhatsApp and offered my help wherever I could. Little did I know that this simple act would lead to my ultimate breakthrough - participating in the Google Girl Hackathon with a fantastic team.

  • I wasn't exactly jumping at the chance to join this hackathon. But my friend was persistent, and thank goodness she was! I mean, who would have thought that participating in a tech competition would lead to such a life-changing experience?

  • Want to win friends and influence people? The secret is simple - just be resourceful! Share your knowledge, recommend great books or resources, and always be willing to lend a hand. It's not rocket science, but the key to building valuable relationships.

  • I bring my resourceful and value-adding skills to Twitter globally, helping people from all around the world connect and learn from each other - a significant reason why many people decided to follow me!

[4] Don't wait for the perfect opportunity:

  • Because it may never come, opportunities often present themselves at unexpected times, in unexpected places and in unexpected forms.

  • Instead of waiting for the perfect one, focus on creating opportunities for yourself by continuously learning, networking and taking calculated risks.

Remember, the best time to take advantage of an opportunity is when you have one, so be ready to seize the moment and make the most of it.

2022, you were a wild ride, and I'm grateful for every moment!

ย